Lake Baikal (Russian: Озеро Байкал, Buryat: Байгал нуур, Mongolian: Байгал нуур, English: Lake Baikal), located in southern Siberia, Russia, in the Republic of Buryatia and Irkutsk, Between 51°29′~55°46′ north latitude and 103°41′~109°57′ east longitude, the total volume of the lake is 23.6 trillion cubic meters (2015), and the deepest reaches 1637 meters (2015). The world’s first deep lake, the largest freshwater lake in Eurasia. The lake is 636 kilometers long, with an average width of 48 kilometers and an area of ​​31,500 square kilometers. It is formed by the fracture of the stratum. The lake is 455 meters above sea level with an average water depth of 730 meters.

Lake trivia:Where is the deepest lake in the world?
Lake trivia:Where is the deepest lake in the world?

Baikal Lake was called the North Sea in ancient times. It was once the main activity area of ​​the northern tribes in China. The Qing Dynasty controlled the area for a short time. After the Treaty of Nybchu, the area was ceded to Tsarist Russia. The Baikal region is a settlement of ethnic minorities in Irkutsk, with the majority of the Mongolian branch of Bryat. Lake Baikal is known as the “Siberian Pearl” and UNESCO registered Lake Baikal as a World Natural Heritage Site in 1996.

Injecting 336 rivers, such as the Baikal Huge River, the catchment area is 557,000 square kilometers. The Angara River, a tributary of the Yenisei River, flows out. There are 27 small islands in the lake. Because it is not covered by Quaternary glaciers, there are still third-order freshwater animals in the lake. The famous Baikal seals and concave whites鲑, Omur fish, sharks, etc. The lake is an important fishing ground in Russia and has a large impact on the climate of the region.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
0 评论
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments